## MINUTES ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING SOCORRO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.

## April 12, 2003

The Annual Membership Meeting of The Socorro Electric Cooperative, Inc., was held on Saturday, April 12, 2003 at 7:00 p.m. at the Finley Gymnasium, Socorro, New Mexico. INDEX

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Mr. Nick J. Sais, President of the Board of Trustees.

CALL TO ORDER

President Sais presided over the meeting.

The Presentation of the Colors was conducted by Boy Scout Troop # 362.

PRESENTATION OF COLORS

Harold Baca, Trustee, gave a presentation on the Flag of the United States, originally told by Senator John Glenn, who was a Prisoner of War during the Vietnam War.

Denise Marez of Magdalena High School sang the National Anthem.

NATIONAL ANTHEM

Boy Scout Troop #362 recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Invocation was presented by Mr. Dave Wade, Trustee.

INVOCATION

President Sais welcomed all the members of the Cooperative to the Annual Meeting and thanked everyone for coming to the meeting.

WELCOME

President Sais recognized the staff for organizing the meeting and acknowledged the Board of Trustees for their hard work in making the Cooperative financially sound.

President Sais stated that the Board of Trustees returned \$400,000.00 in Capital Credits.

President Sais stated that it was important to have a quorum present in order to take action on the Proposed By-Laws Changes and added that the Membership must be satisfied with how the Cooperative is run because it appeared that the number to have a quorum would not be met.

**Annual Meeting Minutes** Page 2 April 12, 2003

Leopoldo Pineda, Jr., Operations Manager, announced the 2003 Annual Coloring Contest Winners as follows:

COLORING CONTEST WINNERS

1st Place

Jose Miguel Sabinas, La Promesa Elem. School

2<sup>nd</sup> Place 3rd Place

Jasmin Regalado, La Promeda Elem. School Jeneya Montoya, Magdalena Elem. School

The winners were awarded savings bonds for \$100, \$75 and \$50 respectively.

Mr. Pineda also announced the 2002 Scholarship Recipients as follows:

**SCHOLARSHIP** RECIPIENTS

Alamo High School

Lorna Guerro Fitisha Baca

Valedictorian Regular

Belen High School

Miriah Salas

Regular

Magdalena High School

**Denise Grayson** Desiree Lucero

Valedictorian Regular

Quemado High School

**Amber Hudson** Fran Chavez

Valedictorian Regular

Socorro High School

Terra Dawn Plank Michael Gonzales Aimee Argabright Juliette Sanchez

Valedictorian Regular Regular Regular

Tri-State Scholarships:

Alamo High School

Fitisha Baca

Salutatorian

Socorro High School

Anna Wolf

Salutatorian

President Sais introduced the Board of Trustees of the Cooperative.

INTRODUCTION OF TRUSTEES

Lupe Vega, General Manager, introduced the SEC Employees that assisted with the Annual Meeting in addition to the SEC Employees present in the audience.

INTRODUCTION OF EMPLOYEES

Annual Meeting Minutes Page 3 April 12, 2003

President Sais introduced Mr. J.T. Turner and his wife Frances, President of the Board of Trustees, Central New Mexico Electric Cooperative, Inc.

INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

Mr. Dennis Francish, SEC Attorney, was also introduced.

President Sais introduced Ms. E. Shirley Baca, Commissioner on the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission.

INTRODUCTION OF GUEST SPEAKER

Ms. Baca thanked the Board of Trustees for inviting her to be the Guest Speaker and that this was her first official Cooperative meeting that she has attended.

GUEST SPEAKER

: ;

\$ 5 1

: 4

Ms. Baca gave a synopsis of the duties and responsibilities of the Public Regulation Commission.

Ms. Baca informed the Membership that legislation was passed and signed into law during the recent Legislative Session that the Public Regulation Commission would be the first elected body in 2006 that public financing of elections would be enacted.

Ms. Baca stated that she would be opening an office in Socorro which would be located at the Fire Academy and would be opened on a part-time basis.

In closing, Ms. Baca also told the Members present that they were very lucky to have Mr. Vega as General Manager of the Cooperative because he was one of the most knowledgeable Managers in the State.

President Sais closed the Registration of Members for the Business Session.

CLOSE REGISTRATION

President Sais informed the members that there were <u>252</u> members registered and <u>303</u> members were needed for a quorum.

**QUORUM** 

President Sais declared that there was not a quorum present and therefore could not conduct the business session of the meeting.

## Annual Meeting Minutes Page 4 April 12, 2003

President Sais adjourned the business session of the meeting due to lack of a quorum.

QUORUM

The door prizes were awarded by the SEC Annual Committee.

DOOR PRIZES

0		
\$500	Eileen Latasa	
\$100	Senaida Greenwood	<b>)</b>
<b>\$100</b> ·	Martin Lopez	, i
\$100	Corrine Jaramillo	· <u>i</u>
\$100	Joe Martinez	
\$100	Jarabella Pine	¥
\$100	Deluvina Pino	5
\$100	David Pino	
\$100	Minnie Torres	
\$100	Shirley Chavez	
\$100	Angie Reynolds	
\$100	Florence Peralta	
\$100	Willard Rollings	
\$100	Marilyn Madrid	
\$100	Art Benavidez	
\$100	Elena Lopez	
\$ 50	Annie Lee Chavez	(donated by NIX Electric)
<b>Toaster Oven</b>	Verna Monte	(donated by WESCO)
DVD Player	Esther Connell	(donated by CBR Services,
		Inc.)
Sweeper	Steven Duran	(donated by WESCO)
Digital Clock	Stella Castillo	(donated by McFarland
		Cascade)
Timex Clock	Frances Herron	(donated by McFarland
		Cascade)
Telephone	Lucinda Pino	(donated by McFarland
		Cascade)
Iron	Steve Rosas	(donated by WESCO)
\$25 Energy Credit	Pat Gonzales	(donated by SGS Witter,
		Inc.)
\$25 Energy Credit	Koma Yazzie	(donated by SGS Witter,
		Inc.)
Silk Plant	Cindi Wade	(donated by SEC)