### MINUTES ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING THE SOCORRO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.

## APRIL 22, 2006

The Annual Members Meeting of The Socorro Electric Cooperative, Inc., was held on April 22, 2006 at the Finley Gymnasium. Member Registration was held from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Entertainment was provided by Bernie Romero and Band.	INDEX	
The Meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Mr. Paul Bustamante, President.	CALL TO ORDER	
The Presentation of the Colors was led by Socorro DAV Post #24.	PRESENTATION OF COLORS	
Members of the Socorro High School Chorus, lead by Ms. Rheda Brown, sang the National Anthem.	NATIONAL ANTHEM	
The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Socorro DAV Post #24.	PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE	
Florencio Saavedra, Retired SEC Employee, gave the Invocation.	INVOCATION	
President Bustamante welcomed the Membership and thanked them for attending their meeting and showing interest in matters concerning the Cooperative.	WELCOME	
Ms. Kathy Torres, Office Manager, presented the List of 2005 Scholarship Recipients as follows:	SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS	
SEC FOUNDATION VALEDICTORIAN SCHOLARSHIP		
Nishani Anashila Alama Hish Oshani	ĩ	

Nizhoni Apachito Rachelle Winston Aaron Greene Chance Williams Aditi Majumdar Alamo High School Magdalena High School Quemado High School Quemado High School Socorro High School

#### SOCORRO ELECTRIC SCHOLARSHIP

Alyssa Herrera Samantha Via Rachel Montoya Sheldon Walker Ashley Nicole Lynch Kendra Peralta Hillary Pineda Alamo Navajo High School Belen High School Magdalena High School Quemado High School Socorro High School Socorro High School Socorro High School

#### **TRI-STATE G&T SCHOLARSHIP**

Alyna Baca Rebecca Carver Magdalena High School Quemado High School Annual Membership Meeting Page 2 April 22, 2006

Torres announced the 2005 Coloring Contest Winners as follows:

First PlaceSteven HumphreyQuemado ElementarySecond PlaceAraceli GarciaLa Promesa ElementaryThird PlaceNicah MontoyaMagdalena ElementaryThird Place - Statewide ContestSteven Humphrey

President Bustamante introduced the Board of Trustees and their Spouses.

Manager Pineda introduced the Employees working and attending the Meeting.

INTRODUCTION OF TRUSTEES

2005 COLORING CONTEST

WINNERS

INTRODUCTION OF EMPLOYEES

President Bustamante introduced the following guests:

Joanna Aguilar	SEC Attorney
Michael Quintana	Policy Analyst, Commissioner of Public Lands for The State of New Mexico
Lina Garcia	Office Manager, New Mexico Rural Electric Cooperative
E. Shirley Baca	Commissioner, New Mexico Public Regulation Commission
D. Kent Evans	County Commissioner, District 4 - Dona Ana County and Candidate for NMPRC
Anna Mae Evans	Spouse of D. Kent Evans

Trustee Gonzales, Tri-State Representative to the Board of Directors, thanked the membership, in both English and Spanish, for electing him for another term and would continue to do the best that he could do for the Cooperative.

Trustee Gonzales introduced Mr. Harold "Hub" Thompson, Chairman/President, Board of Directors of Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association, Inc.

Mr. Thompson gave a brief description of Tri-State's mission and the service territory it covers.

Mr. Thompson stated that higher prices for electricity was inevitable and that rate increases would have to be passed on to consumers for the next 4-5 years.

Higher prices for electricity were due to several factors, according to Mr. Thompson, namely increases in the purchase and transport of coal.

Mr. Thompson stated that Tri-State G&T was doing and would continue to do whatever is necessary to keep the rates down.

## INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

INTRODUCTION OF GUEST SPEAKER

Annual Member Meeting Page 3 April 22, 2006

President Bustamante called the Business Session to order and closed Registration. CALL TO

CALL TO ORDER/CLOSE REGISTRATION

DETERMINATION OF QUORUM

President Bustamante announced that the Cooperative a total of 9,081 Members and that 272 Members were required for a Quorum

A total of 202 members registered, therefore a Quorum was not present to conduct the Business Session.

President Bustamante adjourned the Business Session due to lack of a Quorum.

ADJOURN BUSINESS SESSION

	AWARDING OF DOOF
Janice Jaramillo	\$ 50.00
Mike Barela	\$ 50.00
Eloisa Jojola	\$ 50.00
Vickie Romero	\$ 50.00
Vincent Peralta	\$100.00
Tom Zumbro	\$100.00
Fernando Silva	\$ 50.00
Horse Springs Church	\$ 50.00
Antonio S. Garcia	\$ 50.00
John Cardwell	\$ 50.00
April Chavez	\$100.00
Lorena Vursels	\$100.00
Carolyn Guerro	\$ 50.00
Sharon Bruton	\$100.00
Bensen Apache	\$100.00
Kenny Gonzales	\$ 50.00
Rosita Hernandez	\$ 50.00
Rufie Montoya	\$ 50.00
Mary Silva	\$ 50.00
Bennie Barreras	\$ 50.00
Smiley DeCosta	\$100.00
Debra Lopez	\$100.00
Becky Silva	\$100.00
Mike Lopez	\$100.00
Cindy Rivera	\$100.00 plus Plant
Nadine Hidalgo	\$100.00
Lola McWhorter	\$100.00

# AWARDING OF DOOR PRIZES

(