Stephanie Vega

AUGUSTIN PLAINS RANCH, LLC,

Applicant/Appellant,

v.

TOM BLAINE, P.E.,

New Mexico State Engineer/Appellee,

and

CATRON COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, et al.,

Protestants/Appellees.

THE COMMUNITY PROTESTANTS' MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

The Protestants represented by the New Mexico Environmental Law Center (collectively "the Community Protestants," who are listed on page 3 *infra*) hereby move the Court for summary judgment dismissing the Augustin Plains Ranch's ("APR's") Corrected Application¹ to Appropriate Ground Water from the Rio Grande Underground Water Basin (the "Current APR Application"). This Motion for Summary Judgment ("Motion") is made on the following grounds, which are explained in more detail in the Memorandum in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment that the Community Protestants are filing with this Motion.

Appeal from a decision of the New Mexico State Engineer in OSE Hearing #17-005

Judge Matthew G. Reynolds

D-728-2018-00026

¹ APR and the State Engineer refer to the APR Application as "Corrected" because it changed inaccurate descriptions of the locations of proposed wells in an earlier version of the Application, not because it addressed any of the substantive issues that are the bases of the Community Protestants' Motion for Summary Judgment.

The first basis for the Community Protestants' Motion is that the Current APR Application should be dismissed because it is invalid on its face for the reason that it does not set forth the information that is required for an application to appropriate ground water.

The second ground for this Motion is that there is no merit to the allegation made by APR in the proceeding before the State Engineer below that APR was entitled to an evidentiary hearing before the State Engineer but was inappropriately denied such a hearing.

The third basis for the Community Protestants' Motion is that the substance of the Current APR Application has already been determined to be facially invalid, and the doctrine of collateral estoppel indicates that the Current APR Application should be dismissed. The determination that the substance of the Current APR Application is invalid was made by this Court in 2012 in case number D-728-CV-2012-00008. That case addressed the APR Application that was filed in 2007 and 2008, which is materially identical to the Current APR Application. Dated: December 14, 2018.

> NEW MEXICO ENVIRONMENTAL LAW CENTER

Douglas Meiklejohn / Jaimie Park Jonathan Block Charles de Saillan Eric Jantz 1405 Luisa Street, Suite #5 Santa Fe, NM 87505 Telephone: (505) 989-9022 Facsimile: (505) 989-3769 Electronic mail: <u>dmeiklejohn@nmelc.org</u>, jpark@nmelc.org

Attorneys for the Community Protestants listed on the following page.

Attorneys for the following Protestants:

Gladys Baca; Robert and Mona Bassett; Patti BearPaw; Sue Berry-Fox; Ann Boulden; Donald and Joan Brooks; Jack Bruton and Bruton Ranch, LLC; Lisa Burroughs and Thomas Betras, Jr.; Charles and Lucy Cloyes; Michael D. Codini, Jr.; Randy Coil; James and Janet Coleman; Terri Cook; Thomas A. Cook; Wildwood Highlands Landowners Association and its members; Randy Cox; Nancy Crowley; Tom Csurilla and Elk Ridge Pass Development Company, LLC and Top of the World Land Company, LLC; Roger and Jeanne Daigger; Michael and Ann Danielson; Bryan and Beverley Dees; John and Eileen Dodds; Louise and Leonard Donahe; Patricia Eberhardt; Roy Farr; Paul and Rose Geasland; Gila Conservation Coalition, Center for Biological Diversity and Gila Watershed Alliance; Mary Rakestraw Greiert; Michael Hasson; Don and Cheryl Hastings; Gary and Carol Hegg; Patricia Henry; Catherine Hill; Eric Hofstetter; Sandy How; M. Ian and Margreet Jenness; Amos Lafon; Marie Lee; Cleda Lenhardt; Rick and Patricia Lindsey; Victoria Linehan; Owen Lorentzen; Mike Loya; Sonia Macdonald; Robert and Susan MacKenzie; Douglas Marable; Thea Marshall; Sam and Kristin McCain; Jeff McGuire; Michael Mideke; Kenneth Mroczek and Janice Przylbyl Mroczek; Peter Naumnik; John Naumnik; Regina Naumnik; Robert Nelson; Veronika Nelson; Walter and Diane Olmstead; Karl Padgett; Max Padget; Leo Padgett; Patricia Padgett; Wanda Parker; Ray and Carol Pittman; John Preston and Patricia Murray Preston; Daniel Rael; Stephanie Randolph; Mary Katherine Ray; Kenneth Rowe; Kevin and Priscilla Ryan; Ray and Kathy Sansom; Christopher Scott Sansom; John and Betty Schaefer; Susan Schudardt; Janice Simmons; Jim Sonnenberg; Anne Sullivan; Margaret and Roger Thompson; Gloria Weinrich; James Wetzig and Maureen M. MacArt; Donald and Margaret Wiltshire; and the following two associations and their members: Homestead Landowners Association and its members, including but not limited to the following: Joseph and Janet Siomiak, Patricia Germain, Bette Dugie, Jonathan Benedict, Michael Murray, John Pohl, Parker Fillion, Barbara Owens; and Abbe Springs Homeowners Association and its members, including but not limited to the following: Raven Reitstetter, Nancy Crowley, Chris and Helen Dossett, Kristin Ekvall, Kenneth and Diana Fry, Albert Goodman, William Gysin, Jeff McGuire, Rozalyn Murphy, Janice Simmons, Ronald Wilson, Paul G. Kotula, Karl and Jane Mears, Thomas and Linda Pampinella, David P. Smith, Carmela L. Warner, Lisa Burroughs, and Tom Betras.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that on December 14, 2018, copies of the foregoing Motion for Summary

Judgment and the Community Protestants' Memorandum in Support of their Motion for

Summary Judgment (with attached exhibits) were sent by electronic mail to the following parties

entitled to notice:

Jeffrey J. Wechsler, Esq. Montgomery & Andrews, P.A. 325 Paseo de Peralta Santa Fe, NM 87501 jwechsler@montand.com kolson@montand.com kluck@montand.com John Draper Draper & Draper 325 Paseo de Peralta Santa Fe, NM 87501 john.draper@draperllc.com

Office of the State Engineer Special Assistant Attorney General Maureen C. Dolan, Esq. P.O. Box 25102 Santa Fe, NM 87504-5102 (505) 827-3824 Maureen.dolan@state.nm.us

L. Christopher Lindeen, Esq. P.O. Box 2508 Santa Fe, NM 876504 (505) 930-0665 Iclindeen@gmail.com

Lorraine Hollingsworth, Esq. Pete Domenici, Esq. Domenici Law Firm, P.C. 320 Gold Avenue SW, Suite 1000 Albuquerque, NM 87102-3228 (505) 883-6250 <u>Ihollingsworth@domenicilaw.com</u> <u>pdomenici@domenicilaw.com</u> Tessa Davidson, Esq. Davidson Law Firm, LLC P. O. Box 2240 Corrales, NM 87048 (505) 792-3636 ttd@tessadavidson.com

Coppler Law Firm, P.C. John L. Appel, Esq. Frank R. Coppler, Esq. 645 Don Gaspar Santa Fe, NM 87505 (505) 988-5656 Fax: (505) 988-5704 jappel@coppler.com fcoppler@coppler.com

A. J. Olsen, Esq. Jonathan Roehlk, Esq. Hennighausen & Olsen, LLP P O Box 1415 Roswell, NM 88202-1415 ajolsen@h2olawyers.com jroehlk@h2olawyers.com Daniel G. Moquin, Esq. Lisa Yellow Eagle, Esq. Navajo Nation Department of Justice P.O. Box 2010 Window Rock, Navajo Nation, AZ 86515 (928) 871-7510 dmoquin@nndoj.org lyelloweagle@nndoj.org

Douglas Meiklejohn